home » cd catalogue » Frederick Galiay - Time Elleipsis

Frederick Galiay - Time Elleipsis

Time Elleipsis - CD cover art

order aylCD-161 - €13.00

download at digital store


Antoine Viard, electrified baritone saxophone
Jean-Sébastien Mariage, electric guitar
Julien Boudart, analog synthesizer
Frederick Galiay, composition, direction, electric bass
Sébastien Brun & Franck Vaillant,
drums, acoustic and electronic percussion sets

cd tracks:

1. Nâga convulsions
2. Sentence | Samsara
3. Luasamla | Points cardinaux
4. Saneu kham Samout
5. Nirmanakâyâ | Dhyâna
6. Dharmakâya - Oiseaux terrifiants
7. Sukha
Total time: 57'29

release information:

Recorded in Moulins-sur-Ouanne, France, summer 2019.
Produced by Mutatis Mutandis.
Recording, mix and mastering by Antonin Rayon.
Photos and graphic design by Frederick Galiay.
Layout by Stéphane Berland.
1 CD Digisleeve.


In the fall of 2016, Frederick Galiay was a laureate for a "Hors les murs" residency program initiated by the French Institute. This residency took place in Thailand, Laos, Cambodia and Myanmar.
It was about immersion in the heart of millennial ceremonies of Theravada Buddhism as well as in animist celebrations practiced by people of varied ethnicities present.
The composed work, Time Elleipsis, for six musicians, invents a poetic link between the mystical expressions of these regions and the resolutely contemporary compositional language used.
Recorded during the summer of 2019, this version follows a dozen concerts where the sextet, as electric as it is electrifying, was able to refine its interpretation of the piece before entering the studio.